Home of the New Zealand Super Eight Schools

Formed in 1997, the New Zealand Super Eight group of schools incorporates the eight boys' high schools from their respective provincial cities of the central North Island. The first sporting competitions commenced in 1998, involving rugby and cricket. Since that time, the Super Eight concept has grown to include not only 10 sports competitions, but also a cultural festival and professional development programmes for management staff and curriculum teachers.